>Drawing Class

>I took a drawing workshop on Saturday at the Pacific Northwest College of Art. It was a lot of fun and got me all excited to start taking more classes! The end of the 6 hour class we played the portrait game. This is the portrait that was created collaboratively by 5 artists. we learned about facial proportions

we drew the rest of a face


I drew both sides of Fredrick Douglas


we practiced drawing negative space


and used gesture to quickly get the feel of objects

drawing a teapot 10 minute study of teapot

first 10 minute study of teapot


15 second gestures of teapot

after class, I had drawing fever and went home and kept right on drawing using the vine charcoal and graphite sticks

i practiced using gesture, fast moving Xiao Mao was a good model

Sagis was a good model as well

I thumbed through the National Geographic to find faces to draw…

We talked about the magic of drawing. It was refreshing to hold charcoal and get my fingers dirty while I made marks on paper. I usually draw with pen, so this was a nice change.

Looking forward to my next art class….whenever that may be!

4 thoughts on “>Drawing Class

  1. >Great job! It's so much fun to get inspired by a class and then bring it home with you. I've used the Ntl. Geo. Mag. lots of times to practice drawing faces. There always seems to be wonderful faces in there with lots of character. Keep up the good work! nancy

Leave a Reply

